Print

In-depth Markets: Derivatives

AMF priorities in the EMIR review

Published on May 2, 2017

While in November 2016 the European Commission undertook a review of EMIR on derivative products traded over-the-counter, the AMF is publishing two position papers on its priorities under the EMIR review and on the conditions under which post-market infrastructures based outside the European Union can benefit from the equivalence regime.

On 23 November 2016 the European Commission published a report on the review of EMIR on derivatives traded over-the-counter, adopted in 2012. This falls within the extension of the consultation initiated by the European Commission in May 2015 on EMIR revision, to which the AMF had responded. A draft amendment of the Regulation is expected to be published soon.

For the AMF, implementation of EMIR has revealed the need for greater proportionality and consistency. Finalisation by the other international financial centres of their regulations on derivatives has also highlighted the possibility for market players of carrying out regulatory arbitrages, strengthening this need for proportionality. Furthermore, these considerations need to be put into perspective with current market trends that are increasingly placing market infrastructures in competition with each other. These matters take on particular significance in light of Brexit by reason of the challenges to market infrastructures currently located in the United Kingdom. All these considerations mean it is vital to review the regime laid down by EMIR for activities carried out from or with third countries.

In this context, the AMF wishes to stress the priorities that seem to it essential when reviewing EMIR:

The AMF supports the objective of strengthening the proportionality of the obligations specified by the text

The obligation to report derivatives to trade repositories needs to be rationalised

The obligation to report derivatives to trade repositories has generated redundancies, operational and legal complexities and in certain respects even data inflation: while the AMF remains attached to the principle of a reporting by both parties to the contract, it defends the need for proportionality, which could be characterised by the following measures: 

  • removal in EMIR of the obligation to report transactions on listed derivatives, except for positions on commodity derivatives, for which access to information on the end beneficiary presents undeniable interests for exercise of its supervisory tasks by the AMF;
  • transition from the current system of double-sided reporting to a simplified system based on the reporting by just one of the two counterparties (single-sided reporting), when a contract is concluded between a financial counterparty and a non-financial counterparty that does not exceed the clearing thresholds or a UCITS or AIF manager who intervenes marginally in derivatives;
  • removal of the obligation to report intragroup transactions between non-financial counterparties whose positions do not exceed the clearing thresholds.

Small financial counterparties need to be exempted from the clearing obligation

The AMF supports the principle of exemption from the clearing obligation for transactions concluded by financial counterparties that only occasionally use derivatives, in view of the low risk represented by these entities and the burden represented by mandatory clearing.

The AMF takes the view that the EMIR review needs to be the occasion to rethink Europe’s relationships with third countries

For the AMF, the EMIR review need not be purely technical.

EMIR, like other European texts (MiFID/MiFIR in particular), specifies an equivalence principle that enables an institution located in a state outside the European Union (third country) to offer its services in the European Union, by complying with the legislation applicable on its territory and being exclusively supervised by its local supervisor. This mechanism presents limits also revealed on the occasion of practical implementation of the equivalence principle for central counterparties (CCP) of third countries. The AMF takes the view that this mechanism needs to be revised and it is making recommendations to this end.

These recommendations are aimed at rationalising the process for examining the equivalence of regulations, setting out the criteria to be taken into account by the European Commission in the initial evaluation and strengthening the equivalence monitoring mechanism over time. ESMA role should also be reinforced in this mechanism. Reciprocity needs in all cases to be an indispensable condition of equivalence. The importance of the activity in the European Union of infrastructures should be taken into account when assessing equivalence, particularly to distinguish:

  • critical infrastructures offering their services in products denominated in euros whose weight is such that they pose a system risk in the European Union and to which the equivalence regime should not apply since these infrastructures absolutely should be located in Europe for their activity in euro; otherwise, the largest positions of clearing members and European clients would be cleared in CCP that would not be, in the future, supervised in the European Union. These extraneous factors can be sources of day-to-day concerns and exacerbated in the event of a crisis if it was necessary to access to ECB liquidity;
  • infrastructures of significant size, which should be subject to strict equivalence of regulations and supervision by ESMA; 
  • smaller infrastructures for which the current equivalence regime should prevail.

The AMF will pay particular attention to client clearing

The prospect of implementation of the central clearing obligation has given rise to areas of friction between regulations: in particular, the rules specified by the UCITS directive were designed more for OTC relationships and do not necessarily take account of the specifics of central clearing. Thus, for example, limitation of the counterparty risk of UCITS concluding over-the-counter derivative contracts to 5% or 10% for reasons of risk diversification needs to be rethought given the clearing obligation, taking account, as the case may be, of the level of segregation retained by clients.

Similarly, the current constraints of UCITS in terms of reusing the collateral received in the form of securities need to be reviewed in light of the central clearing obligation.

The categorisation of securitisation vehicles needs to be improved: while securitisation vehicles are now exempt from central clearing on account of their categorisation as non-financial counterparty, only STS vehicles genuinely merit such an exemption.

Finally, the prospect of the central clearing obligation for derivatives traded over-the-counter, completely unprecedented for clients, has also given rise to difficulties of interpretation concerning the precise role and the responsibilities of the clearing member with respect to clients. The AMF takes the view that clearing members’ obligations need to be clarified and strengthened at European level.

 

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: Florence Gaubert, Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Marchés: Produits dérivés

Priorités de l’AMF dans le cadre de la revue d’EMIR

Publié le 2 mai 2017

Alors que la Commission européenne a entrepris en novembre 2016 un travail de revue du règlement EMIR sur les produits dérivés négociés de gré à gré, l’AMF publie deux papiers de position sur ses priorités dans le cadre de la révision d’EMIR et sur les conditions dans lesquelles les infrastructures de post-marché installées hors de l’Union européenne peuvent bénéficier du régime d’équivalence.

Le 23 novembre 2016, la Commission européenne a publié un rapport sur la revue du règlement EMIR sur les dérivés négociés de gré à gré, adopté en 2012. Il s’inscrit dans le prolongement de la consultation initiée par la Commission en mai 2015 sur la révision d’EMIR, à laquelle l’AMF avait répondu. Un projet de modification du règlement devrait être publié prochainement.

Pour l’AMF, la mise en œuvre d’EMIR a fait émerger le besoin de plus de proportionnalité et de cohérence. La finalisation par les autres places financières internationales de leur réglementation sur dérivés a aussi permis de mettre en lumière la possibilité pour les acteurs de réaliser des arbitrages réglementaires, pouvant renforcer ce besoin de proportionnalité. Par ailleurs, ces réflexions doivent être mises en perspective avec les tendances actuelles de marchés qui placent de plus en plus  les infrastructures de marché en concurrence les unes avec les autres. Ces sujets prennent une acuité particulière à l’aune du Brexit en raison des enjeux liés aux infrastructures de marché actuellement localisées au Royaume-Uni. L’ensemble de ces considérations rend indispensable la revue du régime prévu par EMIR pour les activités réalisées depuis ou avec des pays tiers.

Dans ce cadre, l’AMF souhaite souligner les priorités qui lui semblent essentielles de traiter dans le cadre de la revue d’EMIR :

L’AMF souscrit à l’objectif de renforcer la proportionnalité des obligations prévues par le texte

L’obligation de déclarer les dérivés à des registres centraux de données doit être rationnalisée

L’obligation de déclarer les dérivés aux registres centraux de données (Trades Repositories), a pu générer des doublons, des complexités opérationnelles et juridiques, voire, à certains égards, une inflation de données : si l’AMF reste attachée au principe d’une déclaration par les deux parties au contrat elle défend le besoin de proportionnalité qui pourrait se décliner par les mesures suivantes : 

  • une suppression, dans le cadre d’EMIR, de l’obligation de déclaration des transactions sur dérivés listés, à l’exception des positions sur dérivés de matière première, pour lesquelles l’accès à des informations sur le bénéficiaire final présente des intérêts indéniables pour l’exercice de ces missions de surveillance par l’AMF ;
  • un passage d’un système actuel de double déclaration à un système simplifié reposant sur la déclaration d’une seule des deux contreparties, lorsqu’un contrat est conclu entre une contrepartie financière et une contrepartie non financière qui ne dépasse pas les seuils de compensation ou un gérant d’OPCVM ou de FIA qui intervient marginalement sur dérivés ;
  • une suppression de l’obligation de déclaration des transactions intra-groupe entre contreparties non financières dont les positions n’excèdent pas les seuils de compensation.

Les petites contreparties financières doivent être exemptées de l’obligation de compensation

L’AMF soutient le principe d’une exemption de l’obligation de compensation pour les transactions conclues par les contreparties financières qui n’utilisent qu’occasionnellement des dérivés, compte tenu du faible risque représenté par ces entités et de la charge représentée par la compensation obligatoire.

L’AMF considère que la revue d’EMIR doit être l’occasion de repenser les relations de l’Europe avec les pays tiers

Pour l’AMF en effet, la revue d’EMIR ne doit pas être purement technique.

Le règlement EMIR, comme d’autres textes européens (MIFID/MIFIR, notamment), prévoit un principe d’équivalence qui permet à un établissement localisé dans un Etat hors de l’Union européenne (pays tiers) de proposer ses services dans l’Union, en se conformant à la législation applicable sur son territoire  et en étant exclusivement supervisé par son régulateur local Ce dispositif présente des limites par ailleurs révélées à l’occasion de la mise en œuvre pratique du principe d’équivalence pour les chambres de compensation de pays tiers. L’AMF considère que ce dispositif doit être revu et formule, à cette fin, des recommandations.

Ces recommandations visent à rationaliser le processus d’examen de l’équivalence des réglementations, en précisant les critères à prendre en compte par la Commission dans l’évaluation initiale et en renforçant le dispositif de suivi d’équivalence dans le temps. L’AMF propose, par ailleurs, de renforcer le rôle de l'Esma dans ce dispositif. Dans tous les cas, la réciprocité doit être une condition sine qua non de l’équivalence. L’importance de l’activité dans l’Union des infrastructures devrait être prise en compte dans l’évaluation de l’équivalence, pour distinguer en particulier :

  • les infrastructures d’importance critique proposant leurs services sur des produits libellés en euros dont le poids est tel qu’elles font peser un risque systémique dans l’UE et pour lesquelles le régime d’équivalence ne devrait pas s’appliquer, car ces infrastructures devraient obligatoirement être localisées en Europe ; à défaut, les positions les plus significatives des adhérents compensateurs et des clients européens, seraient compensées dans des CCP qui, à l'avenir, ne seraient pas supervisées dans l'Union européenne. Ces facteurs d'extranéité peuvent être sources d'inquiétudes au quotidien pour les superviseurs et exacerbés en cas de crise si un appel à la liquidité de la BCE s'avérait nécessaire ;
  • les infrastructures d’importance significative, qui devraient faire l’objet d’une équivalence stricte des réglementations et d’une supervision par l’ESMA ; 
  • les infrastructures de moindre importance, pour lesquelles le principe d’équivalence global devrait perdurer.

L’AMF prêtera une attention particulière au client clearing

La perspective de la mise en œuvre de l’obligation de compensation centrale a fait ressortir un certain nombre de frottements entre les régulations : en particulier, les règles prévues par la directive OPCVM ont été davantage conçues pour des relations OTC bilatérales et ne prennent pas nécessairement en compte les spécificités de la compensation centrale. Ainsi, par exemple, la limitation du risque de contrepartie des OPCVM concluant des contrats dérivés de gré à gré à 5% ou 10% pour des raisons de diversification des risques doit être repensée compte tenu de l’obligation de compensation, en tenant compte le cas échéant du niveau de ségrégation retenu par les clients.

De la même façon, les contraintes actuelles des OPCVM en matière de réutilisation du collatéral reçu sous forme de titres doivent être revues à l’aune de l’obligation de compensation centrale.

La qualification des organismes de titrisation doit être améliorée : si les organismes de titrisation se voient aujourd’hui dispensés de compensation centrale du fait de leur qualification de contrepartie non financière, seuls les véhicules STS méritent réellement une telle dispense.

Enfin, la perspective de l’obligation de compensation centrale pour les dérivés négociés de gré à gré, complètement inédite pour les clients, a également suscité des difficultés d’interprétation sur le rôle exact et les responsabilités de l’adhérent compensateur vis à vis des clients. L’AMF considère que les obligations des adhérents compensateurs doivent être clarifiées et renforcées au niveau européen.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Directeur de la publication : Florence Gaubert, Directrice de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02